ISBN: 9781592124367
Format: Mass market paperback
Series: L. Ron Hubbard Presents Writers of the Future
Pages: 650



Edited by K. D. Wentworth. Short stories by Emery Huang, Donald Mead, Grá Linnaea, Fiona Lehn, Heather McDougal, Mike Wood, Schon M. Zwakman, Krista Hoeppner Leahy, Matthew S. Rotundo, C.L. Holland, Jordan Lapp and Gary Kloster. Bonus stories and essays by L. Ron Hubbard, Robert Silverberg and Ron Lindahn.


Writers of the Future (WOTF) is a science fiction and fantasy story contest that was originated by L. Ron Hubbard in the early 1980s. Hubbard characterized the contest as a way of “giving back” to the field that had defined his professional writing life. The contest has no entry fee and is the highest-paying contest for amateur science-fiction and fantasy writers. Notable past winners of WOTF include Stephen Baxter, Karen Joy Fowler, James Alan Gardner, Nina Kiriki Hoffman, Jay Lake, Michael H. Payne, Patrick Rothfuss, Robert Reed, Dean Wesley Smith, Sean Williams, Dave Wolverton and David Zindell. The winning stories are published in the yearly anthology L. Ron Hubbard Presents Writers of Future. The contest enjoys a favorable reputation in the science fiction community.